Volume 03 Episode 130 – Search and Recover: To Love Somebody

An hour of covers of the Bee Gees’ “To Love Somebody” with selections from Bee Gees, Eric Burdon and The Animals, Nina Simone, Janis Joplin, Roberta Flack, Dusty Springfield, The Flying Burrito Brothers, Busty Brown, Billy Corgan, Silver Ginger 5, Slobberbone, Lindi Ortega, and Rod Stewart.

Air Date: 2020-12-20

Listen to the broadcast using the media player above, or download a copy through this link.

Bee Gees “To Love Somebody” from Bee Gees 1st 1967

Eric Burdon & The Animals “To Love Somebody” from Love Is 1968

Nina Simone “To Love Somebody” from To Love Somebody 1969

Janis Joplin “To Love Somebody” from Woodstock – Back To The Garden 50th Anniversary Experience 2019 Recorded Sunday, August 17, 1969

Roberta Flack “To Love Somebody” from Quiet Fire 1971

Dusty Springfield “To Love Somebody” from The Complete BBC Sessions 2007 Recorded on January 5th, 1970

The Flying Burrito Brothers “To Love Somebody” from Honky Tonk Heaven 1973

Busty Brown “To Love Somebody” from The Upsetter 1969 V/A

Billy Corgan “ToLoveSomebody” from TheFutureEmbrace 2005

Silver Ginger 5 “To Love Somebody” from Black Leather Mojo 2000

Slobberbone “To Love Somebody” from Slippage 2002

Lindi Ortega “To Love Somebody” from Faded Gloryville 2015

Rod Stewart “To Love Somebody (Early Take)” from The Rod Stewart Sessions 1971-1998 2009 Recorded during the 1975 Atlantic Crossing sessions

Volume 03 Episode 129 – Ketchup and Relish

Selections from Perfume Genius, Calexico, Sturgill Simpson, Bill Callahan, All Them Witches, Arbouretum, Alanis Morissette, Gregory Pepper and His Problems, The Avalanches, Moodymann, !!!, Negativland, El Michels Affair, and The Budos Band.

Air Date: 2020-12-22

Listen to the broadcast using the media player above or download a copy through this link.

Perfume Genius “On the Floor” from Set My Heart On Fire Immediately 2020

Calexico “Heart of Downtown” from Seasonal Shift 2020 N

Sturgill Simpson “Brace for Impact (Live a Little)” from Cuttin’ Grass – Vol. 2 (Cowboy Arms Sessions) 2020 N

Bill Callahan “Pigeons” from Gold Record 2020 N

All Them Witches “The Children Of Coyote Woman” from Nothing As The Ideal 2020 N

Arbouretum “No Sanctuary Blues” from Let It All In 2020

Alanis Morissette “Diagnosis” from Such Pretty Forks In The Road 2020 N

Gregory Pepper & His Problems “(Isolation)” from Under a Heather Moon 2020 N

The Avalanches “Until Daylight Comes” from We Will Always Love You 2020 N

Moodymann “Let Me In” from Taken Away 2020

!!! “Wonderful Life” from Certified Heavy Kats 2020 N

Negativland “Content” from The World Will Decide 2020 N

El Michels Affair “Villa” from Adult Themes 2020

The Budos Band “Gun Metal Grey” from Long In The Tooth 2020 N

The Budos Band “Mierda De Toro” from Long In The Tooth 2020 N

Volume 03 Episode 128 – Make It Brighter

Selections from The Greyboy Allstars, Patrick Moraz, Hawkwind, Mino Cinelu and Nils Petter Molvær, Hidden Orchestra, The Gaslamp Killer, Leo Kottke and Mike Gordon, Real Estate, Hayley Williams, The Psychedelic Furs, Chromatics, and Tycho.

Air Date: 2020-12-15

Listen to the broadcast using the media player above or download a copy through this link.

The Greyboy Allstars “Como De Allstars” from Como De Allstars 2020 N

Patrick Moraz “Temples of Joy: Opening of the Gates/Overture/The Feast (A Festa)” from Patrick Moraz [2019 Reissue] 2019 Originally released in 1978.

Hawkwind “Hymn To The Sun” from Road To Utopia 2018

Mino Cinelu and Nils Petter Molvær “Indianala” from SulaMadiana 2020 N

Hidden Orchestra “The Windfall” from Night Walks 2010

The Gaslamp Killer “Forged by Fire (feat. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson)” from Heart Math 2020 N

Leo Kottke & Mike Gordon “How Many People Are You” from Noon 2020 N

Real Estate “Also A But” from The Main Thing 2020

Hayley Williams “Simmer” from Petals for Armor 2020

The Psychedelic Furs “Ash Wednesday” from Made Of Rain 2020 N

Chromatics “Touch Red (On Film)” from Faded Now 2020

Tycho “Cypress” from Simulcast 2020

WESU Middletown Needs Your Support

I’m proud to have been hosting Wonderland on WESU Middletown, 88.1 FM since 2007. My 13 years in community radio pales in comparison to WESU’s 80+ years serving the Greater Middletown Community.

If you listen to my show, you know that WESU is one one of the nation’s oldest, non-commercial, community radio stations.

We aren’t the first. But many of the bastions of independant, non-commercial broadcasts that began in the 20th century with WESU have gone silent.

Could you imagine the loss to the community if WESU was to join them in perpetual silence?

We need your support during the station’s Fall/Winter Pledge Drive. We have over $20,000 to raise before the year ends, and we need our listeners’ and supporters’ donations to make this happen.

WESU Middletown, 88.1 FM is here for you 24/7, providing a soundtrack for your life and public affairs shows for your mind. Please be here for us during our time of need.

Donate online at http://wesufm.org/donate

Volume 03 Episode 127 – Feel So Good

Selections from The 13th Floor Elevators, The Galileo 7, Samsara Blues Experiment, Wasted Shirt, Nolan Potter’s Nightmare Band, Mosses, Beastie Boys, Santigold, Ocote Soul Sounds And Adrian Quesada, Antibalas, and Shabaka And The Ancestors.

Air Date: 2020-12-08

Listen to the broadcast using the media player above or download a copy through this link.

The 13th Floor Elevators “Gloria (Live)” from You and I and Me 2020 N Original artist: Them

The Galileo 7 “Astronomy Domine” from Decayed 2020 N Original artist: Pink Floyd

Samsara Blues Experiment “Sad Guru Returns” from One With The Universe 2017

Wasted Shirt “Four Strangers Enter the Cement at Dusk” from Fungus II 2020

Nolan Potter’s Nightmare Band “Caberfae Peaks” from Nightmare Forever 2019

Mosses “Another Plan” from T.V. Sun 2020

Beastie Boys, Santigold “Don’t Play No Game That I Can’t Win (feat. Santigold)” from Beastie Boys Music 2020 N Originally released in 2011 on “Hot Sauce Committee Part Two”

Ocote Soul Sounds And Adrian Quesada “La Lucha Sigue” from El Nino Y El Sol 2004

Antibalas “Gold Rush” from Where The Gods Are In Peace 2017

Shabaka And The Ancestors “Behold, The Deceiver” from We Are Sent Here By History 2020

Volume 03 Episode 126 – Wing-Tipped Smiles

Selections from The Galileo 7, The Mothers of Invention, Iggy Pop, David Bowie, Cate Le Bon, Duran Duran, Morrissey, Robyn Hitchcock, Grateful Dead, Khruangbin, Black Elephant, and The Beatles.

Air Date: 2020-12-01

Listen to the broadcast using the media player above or download a copy through this link.

The Galileo 7 “Circle Sky” from Decayed 2020 N Original artist: The Monkees

The Mothers of Invention “The Duke (Live At Whisky a Go-Go, Los Angeles, 1968)” from Zappa Original Motion Picture Soundtrack 2020 N Recorded live at the Whisky A Go-Go – June 23, 1968

Iggy Pop “Some Weird Sin” from The Bowie Years 2020 N Originally released in 1977 on “Lust for Life”

David Bowie “Saviour Machine (2020 Mix)” from Metrobolist 2020 N

Cate Le Bon “Meet The Man” from Reward 2019

Duran Duran “Paper Gods” from Paper Gods 2015

Morrissey “Darling, I Hug A Pillow” from I Am Not A Dog On A Chain 2020

Robyn Hitchcock “I Want To Tell You About What I Want” from Robyn Hitchcock 2017

Grateful Dead “Ramble On Rose” from Dave’s Picks Volume 34 – Jai-Alai Fronton, Miami, FL 6/23/74 2020

Khruangbin “People Everywhere (Still Alive)” from The Universe Smiles Upon You 2015

Black Elephant “The Last March of Yokozuna” from Seven Swords 2020 N

The Beatles “I Want You (She’s So Heavy)” from Abbey Road (50th Anniversary Edition) 2019 Originally released in 1969